The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Library Board

The Library Board is the board of the University Library. It is generally responsible for the collective library services at Lund University - the University Library, faculty libraries, and independent centre libraries.

The Library Board consists of Pro Vice-Chancellor Viktor Öwall, the chairman, the Library Director, four faculty members, two external members and two students. The members are appointed for three years, except the student representatives, who are appointed for one year.

The Library Board's term of office follows the joint university boards' terms of office. The present term of office is from 1 February 2024 to 31 January 2027. 

The Library Board


Viktor Öwall, Pro Vice-Chancellor at Lund University

Library Director

Håkan Carlsson, Lund University Library

Faculty members

Jonas Helgertz, Vice Dean at the School of Economics and Management
Anders Heyden, Deputy Dean at the Faculty of Engineering, LTH
Karin Jirström, Vice Dean at the Faculty of Medicine
Titti Mattsson, Professor at the Faculty of Law 

External members

Gunilla Herdenberg, National Librarian Emerita
Wilhelm Widmark, Library Director at Stockholm University

Student representatives

Term of office 2023-07-01–2024-06-30
Lukas Aniansson
Emma-Karin Rehnman 

Staff representatives with the right to attendance and speech

Marie Hoen, SACO 
Magnus Karlsson, ST

Keeper of minutes

Lena Landgren, Controller at Lund University Library 

Duties of the board

The Library Board:

  • Decides on a budget proposal for the University Library based on the Library Director's assessments.
  • Determines strategic plans and annual reports for the University Library.
  • Follows up the work on ongoing risk management issues within the University Library and takes decisions on action.
  • Develop a competency supply plan for the University Library.
  • Cooperates with faculties, specialised university centres, cultural centres and museums , the Education Board, Research Board and other joint university bodies.
  • Is responsible for strategic questions.
  • Decides on general rules designed to give staff and students equal opportunities at the University Library, faculty libraries and independent centre libraries.

The Library Board's minutes

For minutes, please contact the keeper of minutes, Lena Landgren, at lena [dot] landgren [at] ub [dot] lu [dot] se.


Lena Landgren
+46 46 222 83 68
+46 76 794 00 16
lena [dot] landgren [at] ub [dot] lu [dot] se