ISBN for a doctoral thesis

This applies to doctoral students at Lund University only.

Before you send your doctoral thesis to print it will need a unique ID. This is called International Standard Book Number (ISBN), and is usually printed on the first page of the doctoral thesis.

The University Library is issuing two ISBNs, one for the printed version and one for the electronic version. Both numbers must be included in both versions.

Please write “Doctoral thesis: ISBN” in the subject line.

In some cases, the doctoral thesis is published as part of a publication series and is then provided with the publication series’ ISSN (International Standard Serial Number). ISSNs are not provided by the University Library, but administered by the faculties insofar as they are used.

Units at Lund University with their own ISBN series

The units at Lund University listed below have their own ISBN series. Therefore, in order to secure an ISBN, doctoral students connected to these units should consult with the persons responsible at the department or facutly.

  • Department of Architecture and Built Environment
  • Building Physics
  • Building Services
  • Centre for Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
  • Construction Management
  • Department of Economic History
  • Geology – Lithosphere and Biosphere Science
  • Geology – Quaternary Sciences
  • Faculties of Humanities and Theology
  • Department of Industrial Electrical Engineering and Automation
  • Department of Informatics
  • The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Academy of Music
  • Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystems Science
  • School of Social Work

Faculty secretaries

School of Economics and Management
charlina [dot] lunvald [at] fek [dot] lu [dot] se (Charlina Lunvald)
Phone: +46 46 222 41 73

Faculty of Engineering (LTH) and IIIEE
maria [dot] bajuk [at] lth [dot] lu [dot] se (Maria Bajuk)
Phone: +46 46 222 89 13

Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts
Annika Michelsen
Phone: +46 46 32 54 96

Faculties of Humanities and Theology
kristina [dot] arnrup_thorsbro [at] kansliht [dot] lu [dot] se (Kristina Arnrup Thorsbro)
Phone: +46 46 222 83 15

Faculty of Law
Helena Josefsson
Phone: +46 46 222 10 95

Faculty of Medicine
Anette Saltin
Phone: +46 46 222 49 26

Faculty of Science
linnea [dot] hellman [at] science [dot] lu [dot] se (Linnéa Hellman)
Phone: +46 46 222 15 24

Faculty of Social Sciences
lovisa [dot] eriksson [at] sam [dot] lu [dot] se (Lovisa Eriksson)
Phone: +46 46 222 43 65