Your browser has javascript turned off or blocked. This will lead to some parts of our website to not work properly or at all. Turn on javascript for best performance.

The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

On this web page, you can see an organisation chart for Lund University Library and read about the organisational structure. All links on the web page go to the people and address directory for Lund University.

Organisation chart for Lund University Library. Illustration.
Organisational structure for Lund University Library. The organisation chart is explained in the text below the picture.

Library Director

The Library Director is Lund University Library's highest executive.

The Library Director is Håkan Carlsson.

Management Board

Together with the Library Director the heads of department and the heads of Collection's sections form the Management Board. 

  • Elisabeth Stålesjö, Head of Library Office
  • Eva Nylander, Head of Department Collections
  • Ewa Giniewska, Head of Section Metadata and Cataloguing
  • Gertrud Berger, Head of Section Acquisition
  • Henrik Åslund, Head of Department IT Services
  • Håkan Carlsson, The Library Director
  • Jenny Hallström, Head of Department Library Services
  • Kristoffer Holmqvist, Head of Department Scholarly Communication
  • Tobias Idberg, Head of Section Special Collections
  • Åsa Sellgren, Head of Section Electronic Resources



The department has four sections:

  • Acquisition
  • Electronic Resources
  • Metadata and Cataloguing
  • Special Collections

The department is responsible for the acquisition, management and availability of our physical and digital collections. This means that the department work with everything from legal deposits and manuscripts and special collections to cataloguing and large-scale electronic media management.

Head of Department is Eva Nylander.

Department of Collections

IT Services

The department has two sections:

  • Digitisation
  • Operations and Development

The department is responsible for the development, management, support and administration of our systems. This means that the department run and develop our systems and work with the digitisation of our collections. Within the department there are the skills to reproduce and photograph our material. 

Head of Department is Henrik Åslund.

Department of IT Services

Library Office

The department is responsible for general strategic management and administrative support to the rest of the library. This means that the department support management and the library with internal as well as externa' communication, graphic design, web development. The department also works with staff, financial and building issues. 

Head of Library Office is Elisabeth Stålesjö.

Library Office

Library Services

The department has two sections:

  • Circulation
  • User Services

The department is responsible for information services, research and study environments and Ioans. This means that the department work with the functions and environments where the staff meet researchers, teachers, students and the general public. 

Head of Department is Jenny Hallström.

Department of Library Services

Scholarly Communication

The department support researchers in the scientific publication process and faculties and management in matters relating to Open Access, bibliometrics and research data. The department also administer the University publishing fund and together with the University Research Service Unit the department manage the research information system LUCRIS. 

Head of Department is Kristoffer Holmqvist.

Department of Scholarly Communication